Listen live to Radio Arrow Classic Rock
Sabaton - Carolus Rex Platinum Edition

Sabaton - Carolus Rex Platinum Edition

Label : Nuclear Blast | Archive under heavy / power metal

Release type: Re-release

Wilco : Sabaton is undoubtedly one of the most successful and at the same time most hated metalbands on this planet. I have always liked the band, but many metal enthusiasts think differently about that. To torment these people to the maximum, the band is seen on stage very often and very productive as well.

Because a legendary King of Sweden (Charles the 8th) is 300 years dead on November 30, 2018, the album 'Carolus Rex' is released once again. This is done because this album is about the kingdom of Sweden, where this chap Charles is also discussed on numerous occasions. This Charles was a figure om great importance in many wars so the man can of course be beautifully engulfed in Sabaton's oeuvre.vThe question is whether his death day is a reason to purchase this album. That is of course not the case. So they have come up with some extras. For instance an exclusive track: 'Harley From Hell' a sturdy rocker who sounds as mature as the title suggests. Next to that you get three covers:
- 'Twilight Of The Thunder God' by Amon Amarth. This is funny, but it definitely cannot compete with the original.
- 'Feuer Frei' by Rammstein, this of course suits Sabaton much better and therefore sounds a lot better.
- 'In The Army Now' from the Dutch outfit Bolland & Bolland, but most people now it from Status Quo who covered this 1981 original back in ’86. Now Sabaton’s version actually adds something to the song. The heavy theme is transmitted even better by Sabaton than by the original version.

Two songs out of a total of fifteen that are worth it... If you do not have the original release, this may just pursue you to buy it, but otherwise it's not worth the purchase, unless you’re a true completist. If so, you can dive deep into your wallet,for this re-ssue will be made available in these formats:

- 2LP

Carolus Rex« (Platinum Edition) - Track Listing:

CD1 (English Version)
01. Dominium Maris Baltici
02. The Lion From The North
03. Gott Mit Uns
04. A Lifetime Of War
05. 1 6 4 8
06. The Carolean's Prayer
07. Carolus Rex
08. Killing Ground
09. Poltava
10. Long Live The King
11. Ruina Imperii
Bonus Tracks
12. Twilight Of The Thunder God
13. In The Army Now
14. Feuer Frei
15. Harley From Hell

CD2 (Swedish Version)
01. Dominium Maris Baltici
02. Lejonet Från Norden
03. Gott Mit Uns
04. En Livstid I Krig
05. 1 6 4 8
06. Karolinens Bön
07. Carolus Rex
08. Ett Slag Färgat Rött
09. Poltava
10. Konungens Likfärd
11. Ruina Imperii

  No score

Share this review with your friends

Meer informatie

<< previous next >>