Listen live to Radio Arrow Classic Rock
Dire Peril - The Extraterrestrial Compendium

Dire Peril - The Extraterrestrial Compendium

Label : Divebomb Records | Archive under heavy / power metal

Release type: Full-length CD

Henk : Dire Peril is a new heavy / power metal band that is inspired by sci-fi films such as 'Total Recall', 'Predator' and 'E.T' to name a few. The band consists of Jason Ashcraft who takes care of all the guitars and the bass and vocalist John Yelland. Originally the band had already started in 2009 but was put on hold in 2015 by guitarist Jason. Not long after they made a new start as a duo, resulting in the debut album 'The Extraterrestrial Compendium'. Textually, there is the influence from the sci-fi angle, musically it is traditional heavy metal which with here and there some thrash, prog and power metal influences.

‘The Extraterrestrial Compendium’ has become a very varied and at times very solid debut album. Guitarist Jason is very talented, which is expressed in heavy riffs and fine solo work. Singer John has a great vocal range and knows how to give each song the right emotion. The song material varies from calm ('The Visitor') to fierce and almost thrash-like in songs like 'Total Recall', 'Yuatja Hunter Culture' and 'Roughnecks'. Prominent guests can also be found on the album. In 'Queen Of The Galaxy' we hear Brittney Slayes (Unleash The Archers) as guest vocalist and on the closing, over nine minutes 'Journey Beyond The Stars', none other than Arjen Lucassen plays along. Dire Peril proves with this album that there is still enough talent in the heavy / power metal world. Meanwhile, a live band has been formed so that there can be toured to support this very promising debut.

<< previous next >>