Listen live to Radio Arrow Classic Rock
Anthrax - Kings Amongst Scotland

Anthrax - Kings Amongst Scotland

Label : Nuclear Blast | Archive under heavy / power metal

Release type: DVD/Video/Blu-ray

Sjak : The American band Anthrax has always been a very impressive live act and therefore I was looking forward quite a bit to this ‘Kings Among Scotland’ release (which is available both on DVD as well as CD), on which the show in the Barrowland Ballroom in Glasgow on February 15th 2017 is to be found. The show has a somewhat special character, because to honour the thirtieth anniversary of the great album ‘Among The Living’, it was decided to play this album in its entirety. As a result of that the show was divided into two short sets: one before the break in which they played a couple of new tunes and a number of classics from their other records and one after the break in which the integral ‘Among The Living’ album was played. The performance was completed by the encore ‘Anti-Social’, which is a cover of the French band Trust, but which has become more well-known in the Anthrax-version.

The song material that is presented on this release will definitely be to the liking of everybody, because ‘Among The Living’ is in my opinion together with ‘Spreading The Disease’ the best album that the band has ever released. Next to the fantastic song material also the performance of the band is a very good reason to purchase this ‘Kings Among Scotland’, because all five band members were in excellent shape that night. The guitar work is extremely tight and singer Joey Belladonna’s voice hasn’t lost anything of its power during the years, which results in great versions of songs like ‘A.I.R.’, ‘Medusa’, ‘Madhouse’ and the complete ‘Among The Living’ album. The band is continuously in motion and there’s a great interaction between Belladonna and the crowd. Everything is visualized extremely well and also sound-wise there’s absolutely nothing to complain, making this new Anthrax-release a guarantee for lots of viewing and/or listening pleasure.

On the DVD also some interviews and “behind the scenes”-documentaries are to be found next to the fantastic show and those are certainly also very nice to watch. It’s the excellent show that Anthrax played during that night however, which by itself is already worth the purchase of the DVD. With this release the band only confirms that even today they’re still one of the very best live-bands around.


Set 1:
1. Intro: Impaled
2. A.I.R.
3. Madhouse
4. Evil Twin
5. Medusa
6. Blood Eagle Wings
7. Fight 'Em 'Til You Can't
8. Be All, End All
9. Breathing Lightning

Set 2: Among The Living
1. Intro: I Can't Turn You Loose
2. Among the Living
3. Caught in a Mosh
4. One World
5. I Am the Law
6. A Skeleton in the Closet
7. Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)
8. A.D.I. / Horror of It All
9. Indians
10. Imitation of Life
11. Antisocial
12. Outro: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll

<< previous next >>